Speakers Announced for It’s Our Time Female Leadership Summit

(January 29, 2020) – The It’s Our Time Female Leadership Summit  today announced its speakers and launched tickets sales for the event, which is taking place as part of the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship. The Summit is on the first day of competition March 31, 2020, at the Halifax Convention Centre.

With an aspirational goal to spark conversations far beyond the walls of our rinks and arenas, the Summit invites women to start thinking about their leadership, their contributions, and to remember that the ingredients for success are all the same, no matter your gender.

Carrie Cussons, Chair of the Host Organizing Committee, promises the Summit will be an inspiring day for both emerging and experienced leaders to connect and discuss the pathways to leadership.  

Veteran Canadian journalist and co-host of CTV’s The Social, Marci Ien, will be headlining the event. Ien’s career in television spans three decades including a 13-year run as news anchor and co-host for CTV’s Canada AM. She has been recognized with numerous awards including the BBPA Harry Jerome Award (2008), the Planet Africa Award (2014), the African Canadian Achievement Award for Excellence in Media (2016), as well as listed among the Women’s Executive Network Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada (2018).

Also headlining is Dr. Kimberley Amirault-Ryan, an internationally recognized leader in performance psychology and was the first and only women to be the Performance Consultant with the New York Knicks, New York Rangers, Columbus Blue Jackets, and the Edmonton Oilers. She was the Lead of Sports Psychology for the entire Olympic team during the Vancouver, London, and Sochi Olympics. She has received awards such as the Globe and Mail's Top Power 50 List and WXN Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women.

Other speakers will include Cynthia Benson, Partner, Stewart McKelvey and ISU Figure Skating Judge; Jessica Berman, Deputy Commissioner and Executive Vice President of Business Affairs at the National Lacrosse League; Joyce Carter, President and CEO of the Halifax International Airport Authority; Ariel Gough, Co-Founder of Bailly; Christine Hanson, Director and CEO Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission; Anne Merklinger, CEO of Own the Podium; Sara Napier, President and CEO of United Way Halifax; with many more to be announced in the coming weeks.

Speakers will discuss themes focused on women in underrepresented roles, women in business entrepreneurship, social changemakers, and women in the business of sports.

Tables for the event are $2,000 and on sale now: www.ItsOurTimeSummit.ca.


“With Nova Scotia as its backdrop, the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship is an opportunity to highlight female leadership and the pathways to success. Our vision for the Summit is to inspire the next generation of female leaders – in sport, community and business – to think about the impact they can have on our province.”

  • Carrie Cussons, Chair, IIHF Women’s World Hockey Championship Host Organizing Committee

“Stewart McKelvey is pleased to be the Presenting Sponsor of the It’s Our Time Female Leadership Summit.  We are excited to partner with the Host Organizing Committee and Hockey Canada to celebrate women leaders of today and inspire future women leaders in Atlantic Canada and beyond.”

  • Lydia Bugden, CEO & Managing Partner, Stewart McKelvey

“I’m thrilled to be coming home to Halifax to speak to an audience of seasoned and up-and-coming female leaders. My goal is always to motivate attendees to achieve their best in business, sports, and life by finding a new level of commitment, achievement, and excellence for the teams they are on and lead.”

  • Dr. Kimberley Amirault-Ryan, Performance Consultant to Olympians, NHL, and NBA

About the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship:

The 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship is returning to Nova Scotia for the first time in 16 years, as Halifax and Truro will host the tournament from March 31-April 10, 2020.

Games will be hosted at the Scotiabank Centre in Halifax and the Rath Eastlink Community Centre in Truro. This marks the eighth time Canada has welcomed the best women’s teams from around the world. Halifax previously hosted the event in 2004.

Ten countries will be represented at the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship including Canada, United States, Russia, Finland, Switzerland, Japan, Hungary, Denmark, Germany, and Czech Republic.

For more information and to purchase tickets: www.hockeycanada.ca/tickets.

Media Contact

Erin Esiyok-Prime
902-421-1302 ext. 2791
Email: erin.eprime@eventseast.com